Our Structure

Stanwell is a Queensland Government Owned Corporation, formed on 1 July 1997 under the Government Owned Corporations Act 1993 and registered under the Corporations Act 2001.

We strive to strengthen the financial and operational performance of our existing business, as well as use strategic investments and environmentally responsible energy solutions to build value for our Shareholders.

  • Shareholding Ministers
    • The Hon. Tim Nicholls MP

      The Hon. Tim Nicholls MP

      Treasurer and Minister for Trade

      The Hon. Tim Nicholls MP The Honourable Tim Nicholls MP, originally a solicitor, began his political career as a councillor in the Hamilton ward of the Brisbane City Council. In 2006, he was elected as the State Member for Clayfield.

      Prior to the 2012 election, Mr Nicholls held the roles of Deputy Leader of the Opposition, Shadow Treasurer, Shadow Minister for Finance, Shadow Minister for Trade and Shadow Minister for Racing.

    • The Hon. Mark McArdle MP

      The Hon. Mark McArdle MP

      Minister for Energy and Water Supply

      The Hon. Mark McArdle MP The Honourable Mark McArdle was the Shadow Minister for Health from April 2008 to February 2012. From July 2008 to April 2009, he was Deputy Leader of the Opposition and Deputy Leader of the Liberal National Party. Prior to the 2012 election, Minister McArdle worked as a solicitor.  
  • Board of Directors
    • Paul Breslin

      Paul Breslin

      BSc (Hons), BEcon


      Paul Breslin

      Paul was appointed a non-executive director of Stanwell on 5 July 2012 and is Chairman of the Audit and Risk Management Committee.

      Paul has previously held the positions of Chief Executive Officer and Director of the economic consulting firm ACIL Tasman; and he was the leader of ACIL Tasman's extensive energy practice.  Paul's consultancy work covered policy analysis, business regulation, competition policy and commercial analysis of markets to inform business decisions, mostly covering the energy and resources industries.

      Paul is also a former Director General of the Queensland Department of Minerals and Energy and in 2002 was part of the four member Council of Australian Government's Review into the Australian Energy Markets.

    • Ann Fitzpatrick

      Ann Fitzpatrick

      BA, LL.B, GAICD


      Ann Fitzpatrick Ann was appointed a non-executive director of Stanwell on 1 July 2011 and is a member of the People and Safety Committee.

      Ann has practised as a lawyer for more than 25 years. She retired from private practice in 2008, however prior to this was a partner in two major law firms, specialising in industrial law and commercial litigation.  Ann currently sits as a session member of the Queensland Civil and Administrative Tribunal and practices as a mediator.



    • Russell Kempnich

      Russell Kempnich

      BEng (Mech), MAICD


      Russell Kempnich

      In March 2014, the Board of Stanwell delegated the role, responsibilities and power and authority of the Chairman to Russell, until such time that an official appointment of a Chairman is made by the Governor in Council.

      Russell was appointed a non-executive director of Stanwell on 1 July 2011 and is Chairman of the People and Safety Committee and Member of the Audit and Risk Management Committee.

      Russell is an engineer with more than 30 years' experience in coal resource evaluation, process plant design, construction and commissioning.  In April 2011, following the Queensland Government's announcement to merge the three Queensland Government-Owned Generators (CS Energy Limited, Stanwell Corporation Limited and Tarong Energy Corporation Limited), Russell was appointed to the Genco 2 Advisory Board to oversee the formation of the new Stanwell.  Before the merge, Russell was a director of CS Energy Limited.

      Russel is a founding partner, past Managing Director and currently, non-executive Chairman of Sedgman Limited.


  • Chief Executive Officer
    • Richard Van Breda

      Richard Van Breda

      BCompt (Hons), CA(Z), CA(Aus), Dip. Fin. Serv. (FM, GAICD,) AICD

      Chief Executive Officer

      Richard Van Breda Richard has been involved in the energy industry since 2001. He originally joined Stanwell Corporation Limited in 2002 and was appointed Chief Financial Officer in 2005. He joined Tarong Energy Corporation Limited in the role of Chief Financial Officer in April 2008 and was appointed in that position at Stanwell in July 2011, after the restructure of the Queensland Government owned electricity generators. Richard was appointed Chief Executive Officer at Stanwell in July 2012.

      Prior to this, Richard was a partner with Deloitte, Zimbabwe and spent three years with Anglo American Zimbabwe, which held a diverse range of mining and manufacturing interests.

  • Executive Leadership Team
    • Ian Gilbar

      Ian Gilbar

      BEng (Electrical)

      Acting Chief Operating Officer

      Ian Gilbar As Acting Chief Operating Officer of Stanwell, Ian is responsible for managing the organisation's plant and mine operations, as well as health, safety and environment for the entire business.

      Ian has worked for Stanwell for 17 years and has more than 30 years of experience in the electricity industry in various engineering and technical management roles.


    • Jenny Gregg

      Jenny Gregg

      MBA, BA, Grad Cert (BAdmin), GAICD

      Executive General Manager Business Services

      Jenny Gregg Before commencing with Stanwell in July 2011, Jenny was with Tarong Energy in the role of General Manager People and Communications since September 2008. Prior to this, Jenny worked for more than six years at SunWater, holding the position of Manager Human Resources and Acting General Manager Corporate.

      In a diverse career, Jenny has gained experience in the utilities, human services and health sectors both in line management and within the human resources field. Previous roles include State Manager (Queensland) and National Manager Human Resources for a national provider of professional human services.

    • Michael O'Rourke

      Michael O'Rourke

      BLaw (UQ) / BCom (UQ) / Graduate Diploma of Applied Finance and Investment (SIA) / Graduate Diploma in Company Secretarial Practice (CSA)

      Chief Financial Officer

      Michael O'Rourke

      Michael joined Stanwell in 1998 and has held a number of management positions across Stanwell in the areas of legal, marketing and trading, secretariat, corporate communications and land and property management.
      In September 2012, Michael was appointed to the position of Chief Financial Officer.

      As Stanwell's Chief Financial Officer, Michael is responsible for the internal functions of financial risk and services, business reporting and commercial analysis, secretariat, corporate services, legal, internal audit and supply chain management.

      Prior to this appointment, Michael held the position of Executive General Manager - Governance and Corporate Services.

    • Steve Quilter

      Steve Quilter


      Acting Executive General Manager Energy Trading and Commercial Strategy

      Steve Quilter Steve is responsible for management of Stanwell's Energy Trading and Commercial Strategy capability.

      He was previously Stanwell's General Manager Gas and Hydro Generation. Steve as worked for the energy industry for most of his career, starting as a graduate mechanical engineer at Tarong Power Station.